CS341
Project in Mining Massive Data Sets
Spring 2017
CS341 is an advanced project based course. Students will work on data mining and machine learning algorithms for analyzing very large amounts of data. Both interesting big datasets as well as computational infrastructure (large MapReduce cluster) will be provided by course staff.

Announcements:

Project Ideas (Slides from the info session)

Instructors:

Jeff Ullman (ullman@gmail.com)

Jure Leskovec (jure@cs.stanford.edu)

Matei Zaharia (matei@cs.stanford.edu)

Chris Re (chrismre@cs.stanford.edu)

Anand Rajaraman (datawocky@gmail.com)

Andreas Paepcke (paepcke@cs.stanford.edu)

Rok Sosic (rok@cs.stanford.edu)

Marinka Zitnik (marinka@cs.stanford.edu)

David Hallac (hallac@stanford.edu)

Moses Charikar (moses@cs.stanford.edu)

Class meetings:

Mondays and Wednesdays 4:30PM - 5:50PM in 380-380Y.

This is a project course. There will be only a few weekly lectures, and only one or two introductory homeworks. We will spend the quarter working in teams on different large scale data mining related projects. Teams will individually meet with the assigned mentor.

Teaching assistant:

Nihit Desai (nihit@stanford.edu), Office Hours: Tuesday 3-4pm in Huang Basement.
Yixin Wang (wyixin@stanford.edu). Office Hours: Friday 2-3pm, in Huang Basement
In addition to the normal office hours, we will also have office hours by appointment (just send us an email)

Communication:

Mailing list: You can reach us at cs341-spr1617-staff@lists.stanford.edu
Piazza: For class-related questions and discussions, you can use Piazza: https://piazza.com/stanford/spring2017/cs341.

Previous versions of the course:

CS341: Spring 2013

CS341: Spring 2012

CS341: Spring 2011

Acknowledgment:

The course is generously supported by Google by giving us access to their Cloud Platform.